"An den sieben Säulen"

  1. 4.1. Bauhaus master houses
  2. 4.2. Pump room
  3. 4.3. Two-family house for employees of Junkers
  4. 4.4. Junkers one-room house

4.1. Bauhaus master houses

Bauhaus master houses, Ebertallee, construction period 1925/26, architect Walter Gropius, equipped with thermotechnical appliances by the Junkers factories. Walter Gropius wrote the following about the houses in 1930: "the organism of a house arises from the sequence of processes which take place in it. in a residence, these are the functions of residing, sleeping, bathing, cooking, eating which inevitably impart the character to the fabric of the house." He also noted the following about a picture in the living room in which a wall ventilator originating from the Junkers factories in Dessau could be seen: "today, many things appear to us to be luxury which will become normal just the day after tomorrow!"

The kitchens in the master houses were furnished by Marcel Breuer (Bauhaus carpentry workshop). Several thermotechnical gas appliances such as hot water flow-type calorifiers, gas stoves and gas ovens (Askania factories and Junkers & Co, both in Dessau) set trends in modern household technology.

The kitchen of the caretaker's flat in the Gropius house is furnished with kitchen furniture, design by Marcel Breuer. Appliances: Combined Askania cooker and oven, Junkers gas boiler. The photo also shows that the central heating in the Gropius house was not installed in a separate room in the cellar as was previously published, rather in the kitchen of the caretaker.

After taking up residence in the master houses and initial operations of the thermotechnical appliances, it was a technician employed by the Junkers factories who maintained not only the Junkers appliances but also tested and checked the behaviour of the appliances over the course of their permanent function during his role of caretaker from 1926-1935. With this applied research oriented toward continual improvement in characteristics of practical value which also involved questions and problems of contemporary materials research, Professor Hugo Junkers entered new territory.

4.2. Pump room

The pump room restored according to a design made by the third Bauhaus director, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, with the "floating" roof.

Pump room, on the corner of Ziebigker Strasse and Ebertallee, 1932, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, architect. The long enclosing wall which Gropius built around his master house to screen it, did restrict the historical visual axis to the "Roman ruins" in the Georgium (called "Sieben "Säulen" or "seven pillars" by the locals). The 3rd director of the Bauhaus, Mies van der Rohe, restored this visual constellation ingeniously by a simple structural means. An opening for a window in the wall with a projecting panel over it to cover it - this is how the modern "refreshment stand" at the Ziebigk intersection appeared, the only structure in Dessau completed by Mies van der Rohe. So-called pump rooms, i.e. refreshment stands, of diverse structural design already existed in the Dessau urban area around 1880.

The Junkers factories construction firm also submitted drafts for pump houses and pavilions in 1929/32 for the purpose of reviving the urban area. It is not the artistic concept, rather a pragmatic work shaped by engineering technology that forms the foundation of these construction designs. A crucial aspect in the widely varied project planning carried out by Junkers.

4.3. Two-family house for employees of Junkers

Residences for employees of Junkers, Gropiusallee near the "Sieben Säulen" (seven pillars). A company signet carved into plaster decorates the gable of the uppermost stairwell window.

Two-family house for employees of Junkers, Gropiusallee 72/74 in the Siedlung district, built in the Expressionist style in 1924/25. Design: Junkers site office. Object: Three-storey row house type each with generously laid out flats and attics. Symmetrically arranged triangular polygonal oriels which appear similar to crystal with their delicately constructed glass windows, liven up the simply designed house facades. The Junkers company signet, a flying Icarus modelled in plaster and framed in a triangle floats above the final stairwell window. Friedrich Peter Drömmer, expressionist painter and director of the advertising department of the Junkers factories, designed this logo in 1923. The facade of the building was designed by Drömmer - also with artistic intent. When the lighting in the rooms is reflected in the glass pans by the symmetry of the windows, an illumination effect occurs which makes the house light up like a crystal.

Expressionism was a renunciation of the naturalism of Art Nouveau, a tendency toward a constructive "engineered" development which, in its pertinent stylistic idiom, emphasised the characteristics of technical purpose and which culminated into modernity in the 1920s. Both buildings are distinguished examples of the social factory housing construction for employees that Junkers strove for.

4.4. Junkers one-room house (in planning)

One-room house in Junkers light metal construction, design by Siegfried Ebeling in 1926. The intention was for the daylight to enter the house in prismatic window hinges thereby guaranteeing even distribution of light throughout the room.

Junkers one-room house on the corner of Kornhausstrasse and Am Georgengarten in the Ziebigk district, design by Siegfried Ebeling, Junkers construction firm in May of 1926. The intention was for the building with a self-supporting heat-insulated duraluminium plated membrane to stand on the grounds of the central press office of the Junkers-Nachrichten-Zentrale (news centre) in Kornhausstrasse. Junkers aviation and the sales department of Junkers-Flugzeugwerg AG had also been located in this area since 1919. The intention was also for the one-room house to be located so as to be in view from the Gropius house, which was in the preliminary stages of construction at that time.

With the realisation of this design, a highly interesting comparison of structural engineering would have been accomplished. The Junkers metal house in its segmented assembly method of construction meets the stone house construction with the concrete reinforcements and stone iron coverings of Bauhaus architecture. In contrast to Bauhaus, Professor Hugo Junkers took a different path. He built using lightweight metal, lamella constructions made of thin-walled profiled steel sheets and panel walls.

His crucial questions preceded him: "How heavy does a structure even need to be?" and he compared this to constructing an aeroplane.

© 2016 Junkers-Pfad Dessau. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Impressum

"An den sieben Säulen"

  1. 4.1. Bauhaus-Meisterhäuser
  2. 4.2. Trinkhalle
  3. 4.3. Doppelwohnhaus für Junkers-Mitarbeiter
  4. 4.4. Junkers-Einraum-Haus

4.1. Bauhaus-Meisterhäuser

Bauhaus-Meisterhäuser, Ebertallee, Bauzeit 1925/26, Architekt Walter Gropius, Ausstattung mit wärmetechnischen Geräten durch die Junkerswerke. Über die Häuser schrieb Walter Gropius 1930 "der organismus eines hauses ergibt sich aus dem ablauf der vorgänge, die sich in ihm abspielen. in einem wohnhaus sind es die funktionen des wohnens, schlafens, badens, kochens, essens, die dem gesamten hausgebilde zwangsläufig die gestalt verleihen." Zu einem Bild im Wohnzimmer, auf dem auch ein Wandventilator aus der Produktion der Dessauer Junkerswerke zu sehen ist, notierte Walter Gropius: "heute wirkt noch vieles als luxus, was übermorgen zur norm wird!"

Die Küchen in den Meisterhäusern wurden von Marcel Breuer (Tischlerei der Bauhauswerkstätten) möbliert. Mehrere wärmetechnische Gasgeräte wie Warmwasser-Durchlauferhitzer, Gasherde und Gasbacköfen (Askania-Werke und Junkers & Co, beide Dessau) setzten Akzente in der modernen Hauswirtschaftstechnik.

Die Küche der Hausmeisterwohnung im Haus Gropius ist ausgestattet mit Küchenmobiliar, Entwurf Marcel Breuer. Geräte: Kombinierter Askania-Koch-&-Backherd, Junkers-Gasheizkessel. Das Foto zeigt auch, dass sich die zentrale Heizung im Haus Gropius nicht wie bisher publiziert in einem separaten Kellerraum befand, sondern in der Hausmeisterküche installiert war.

Mit Bezug der Meisterhäuser und Inbetriebnahme der wärmetechnischen Geräte war es ein technischer Angestellter der Junkerswerke, der zwischen 1926-1935 als Hausmeister nicht nur die Junkers-Geräte wartete, sondern auch das Geräteverhalten bei Dauerfunktion testete und kontrollierte. Mit dieser sich ständig auf Verbesserung der Gebrauchswerteigenschaften orientierten Zweckforschung, die auch Fragen und Probleme einer zeitgemäßen Werkstoffforschung mit einbezog, beschritt Prof. Junkers Neuland.

4.2. Trinkhalle

Die wiederhergestellte Trinkhalle nach einem Entwurf des dritten Bauhausdirektors Ludwig Mies van der Rohe mit dem "schwebenden Dach".

Trinkhalle, 1932, Ziebigker Straße/Ecke Ebertallee, Architekt Ludwig Mies van der Rohe. Die lange Umfassungsmauer, mit der Gropius sein Meisterhaus als Sichtschutz umgab, beeinträchtigte aber die historische Blickachse zu den „Römischen Ruinen“ im Georgium (Volksmund „Sieben Säulen“). Der 3. Bauhausdirektor Mies van der Rohe stellte diese Sichtbeziehung in genialer Weise durch einfache bauliche Mittel wieder her. Ein Fensterdurchbruch in die Mauer, eine auskragende, scheinbar schwebende Deckenplatte darüber, ausgeführt in Junkers-Leichtmetallbauweise mit Zementmörtel kaschiert. So zeigte sich der moderne „Refreshment-Stand“ an der Ziebigker Kreuzung, der einzige in Dessau ausgeführte Bau Mies van der Rohes. Sogenannte Trinkhallen, also Erfrischungsstände, unterschiedlichster Bauausführungen gab es bereits um 1880 im Dessauer Stadtgebiet.

Auch das Baubüro der Junkerswerke legte Entwürfe für Trinkhallen und Pavillons zwischen 1929/32 für eine weitere Belebung des Stadtraumes vor. Nicht die künstlerische Auffassung, sondern eine pragmatische ingenieurstechnische Arbeit liegt diesen Bauplanungen zugrunde. Ein entscheidender Gesichtspunkt in der variantenreichen Projektierung von Junkers.

4.3. Doppelwohnhaus für Junkers-Mitarbeiter

Wohnhäuser für Junkers-Mitarbeiter, Gropiusallee nahe den "Sieben Säulen" . Den Giebel der obersten Treppenhausfenster schmückt ein in Putz geschnittenes Firmensignet.

Doppelwohnhaus für Junkers-Mitarbeiter, Gropiusallee 72/74 im Stadtteil Siedlung.1924/25 im Stil des Expressionismus errichtet. Entwurf: Junkers-Baubüro. Objekt: Dreigeschossiger Reihenhaustyp mit je sechs großzügig geschnittenen Wohnungen und Mansarden. Symmetrisch angeordnete dreieckige Erkervorbauten, die mit ihren filigran gestalteten Glasfenstern wie Kristalle wirken, beleben die schlicht gehaltene Hausfassade. Über dem letzten Treppenhausfenster schwebt das im Putz modellierte und im Dreieck gefasste Junkers-Firmenzeichen, der fliegende Ikarus. Friedrich Peter Drömmer, expressionistischer Maler und Leiter der Werbeabteilung der Junkerswerke, gestaltete 1923 dieses Logo. Die Hausfassade entwarf Drömmer ebenfalls in künstlerischer Absicht. Wenn sich abends die Beleuchtung in den Räumen durch die Symmetrie der Fenster in den Glasscheiben widerspiegelt, entsteht eine Lichtinszenierung, die das Haus wie ein Kristall erstrahlen lässt.

Der Expressionismus war eine Abkehr vom Naturalismus des Jugendstils, eine Hinwendung zu einer konstruktiven "ingenieurhaften" Entwicklung, die in ihrer sachbezogenen Formensprache das technisch zweckhafte hervorhob und in den 1920er Jahren in die Moderne kulminierte. Beide Häuser stehen als markantes Beispiel für den von Junkers angestrebten sozialen Werkswohnungsbau für Angestellte.

4.4. Junkers-Einraum-Haus (geplant)

Einraumhaus in Junkers-Leichtmetallbauweise, Entwurf Siegfried Ebeling 1926. Das Tageslicht sollte durch prismatisch gestaltete Fensterbänder in das Haus gelangen und so eine gleichmäßig räumliche Lichtverteilung garantieren.

Junkers-Einraum-Haus, Kornhausstraße/Ecke Am Georgengarten im Stadtteil Ziebigk, Entwurf: Siegfried Ebeling, Junkers-Baubüro, Mai 1926. Das Haus mit einer selbsttragenden wärmeisolierten Duraluminium-Plattenhaut sollte auf dem Gelände des zentralen Pressebüros der Junkers-Nachrichten-Zentrale in der Kornhausstraße stehen. In diesem Bereich befanden sich auch seit 1919 der Junkers-Luftverkehr und die Abteilung Vertrieb der Junkers-Flugzeugwerk AG. Das Einraum-Haus sollte in Sichtbeziehung zum Haus Gropius stehen, das sich gerade im Rohbau befand.

Bei Realisierung dieses Entwurfes wäre ein bautechnisch hochinteressanter Vergleich gelungen. Junkers-Metallhaus in segmentierter Montagebauweise trifft auf den Steinhaus-Bau mit Betonarmierungen und Steineisendecken der Bauhaus-Architektur. Im Gegensatz zum Bauhaus ging also Junkers einen anderen Weg, er baute mit Leichtmetall; Lamellenkonstruktionen aus dünnwandig profiliertem Stahlblech und Paneelwände.

Voraus ging seine entscheidende Frage: "Wie schwer muss denn ein Bauwerk sein?" und verglich es mit dem Bau eines Flugzeuges.

© 2016 Junkers-Pfad Dessau. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Impressum