Kornhaus

  1. 6.1. The "Kornhaus" at the Elbe river
  2. 6.2. Kornhaus swimming facilities on the Elbe river
  3. 6.3. Junkers marine aerodrome, a light column project
  4. 6.4. Boathouse of the Junkers Paddelgemeinschaft e.V.

6.1. The "Kornhaus" at the Elbe river

The "Kornhaus" at the Elbe river. The modern-day "Kornhaus" restaurant, located in the district of Ziebigk in the north west area of Dessau, was erected according to a design by the Bauhaus architect Carl Fieger in 1929/30. The companies Junkers Kaloriferwerk and Junkers & Co. equipped the building with thermotechnical appliances as well as ventilation systems. A structure was realised which embodied the Zeitgeist of 20th century modernity in a visual form and which blended into the natural Elbe valley landscape harmoniously.

The modern public house complex opens on 6 June 1930. In his celebratory speech, Mayor Fritz Hesse emphasised that Dessau was now the city on the Elbe and Mulde rivers. The historical Georgengarten, the redesign of the Beckerbruch as a the future Volkspark, the exemplarily constructed Knarrberg development, the large bathing beach on the Elbe river, the boatyard at Leopoldhafen and, last but not least, the Junkers marine aerodrome dear the Kornhaus reflected the socio-cultural and economic boom Dessau experienced as the capital of the Free State of Anhalt in a politically troubled era. It is important to set trends, he said at the end, and Dessau will continue to do so in the future as well.

It was not only that the numerous guests at this dedication ceremony had the opportunity to marvel at the modern architecture in its functionality and artistic construction, rather they experienced another spectacular highlight. Junkers factory pilots flew over the Kornhaus to the nearby Junkers marine aerodrome in a two-seater Junkers aircraft A 50 "Junior", took off from the Elbe river and finished off the Dessau-Leipzig test circuit with an aviation program the result of which was five new world records being set. Thus came technical modernity and artistic modernity together again here in the enthralling Elbe landscape.

6.2. Kornhaus swimming facilities on the Elbe river (closed in 1954)

Bathing fun at the Kornhaus. The Junkers steel house stood safe from flooding on a steel concrete platform supported by posts. Joost Schmidt, director of the Bauhaus-Reklamewerkstatt, designed a memorable promotional card for the Kornhaus in 1930.

Kornhaus swimming facilities on the Elbe river, built in six weeks in May/June of 1929. In the point of land surrounded by the bend in the Elbe river, right across from the "Kornhaus" restaurant, the Robert Richter company constructed the swimming facilities with the pertinent buildings. A steel stone ceiling resting on and spanned between steel concrete posts formed a large rectangular base plate which was protected from flooding and sealed with a special concrete coating. This was supported by a double-walled house made of corrugated tin and insulated with glass fibre fabric, in accordance with Junkers patent no. 525 015 from 08/03/1928, with a residential area for the life guard and adjacent food service and sanitary facilities. The roof covering was made of adhered asphalt plates from the Dessau company Wilhelm Kohlmann. The changing rooms temporary changing rooms could be found in the cellar. After the great summer floods of 1954, the swimming facilities were closed and the metal building was torn down. The remaining base plate can still be seen on the shore of the Elbe river today.

6.3. Junkers marine aerodrome, a project for a column of light (not realised)

A Junkers A 50w "Junior" landed on the Elbe river at the Kornhaus, 1930. The planned column of light at Leopoldhafen was intended to ensure the safety of the Junkers freight air traffic as night as well.

Junkers marine aerodrome in Leopoldhafen on the Elbe river, from 1918-1945. The harbour facility of the city of Dessau has been situated across from the point surrounded by the bend in the Elbe river since 1845 - separated only by a peninsula in the river. The harbour served as a trading centre for building materials, coal and grain as well as for a winter harbour for inland water transport. In addition to a boatyard, the Leopoldhafen also obtained the additional interesting function as the Junkers marine aerodrome in the 1920s. The Junkers aircraft factory ran a restoration and maintenance plant for their seaplanes. In 1918, the first two-seater seaplane, the Junkers J 11, was tested under practical circumstances before it was used as a seaplane.

It was from these flight tests at the bend in the Elbe at Leopoldhafen that a completely new type of production area for manufacturing aerodynamically formed buoys for seaplanes were developed in cooperation with the Sachsenberg brothers' boatyard in Roßlau. This allowed the site development of suitable expanses of water for use in aviation. Thus the "Blaue Linie" (German for "blue line"), Europe's first marine airline, was founded at the Elbe river allowing regular flights between Dresden - Johannstadt - Dessau - Magdeburg - Hamburg-Altona and back as of August of 1925. The almost 450 km could be flown by the Junkers F 13w in around 4 hours with layover. In the summer season of 1925 alone, 134 passenger flights were registered.

In the subsequent period, the bend in the Elbe river near the Kornhaus also continued to be an internationally noteworthy location when Professor Hugo Junkers conducted rocket launch tests with heavily laden seaplanes.

Column of light project, glass-coated observation tower made of steel profiles on top of a steel concrete house located in the Ziebigk district by the Elbe river at Dessau's Leopoldhafen. With this design from1930, which was developed at the suggestion of Professor Hugo Junkers and in conjunction with the Junkers construction firm and the architectural department of the Bauhaus under the direction of Ludwig Hilberseimer, the Czech Bauhaus student Václav Zralý received his Bauhaus diploma no. 46 on 9 June 1931.

The Junkers marine aerodrome was intended to prove its efficiency with the night flying transport traffic in particular. A 39-metre high column of light, which did have the shape of an observation tower but which was meant to generate bright shining light, would have been able to light up the landing strip at the Kornhaus on the Elbe river to make it appear as a "radiating river". An interesting building project which was never realised as a consequence of the global economic crisis and the political shifts in Germany at that time.

6.4. Boathouse of the Junkers Paddelgemeinschaft e.V.

The Junkers-Paddelgemeinschaft e.V boathouse at Leopoldhafen on the Elbe river in the district of Ziebigk. Under the guidance of a technician as well as with three Junkers apprentices from the Kaloriferwerk, an aesthetic and timeless functional building was erected in May of 1930 in just 14 days - a building based on a design by Ottokar Paulssen, an engineer in the Junkers construction company. This Junkers steel lamella construction remained above flood levels on several concrete posts and blended beautifully into the landscape with a vaulted wood-panelled pointed gable facing the Elbe river.

The Junkers-Paddelgemeinschaft boathouse has its most attractive facade facing the Elbe river.

© 2022 Junkers-Pfad Dessau. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Imprint / Disclaimer / Privacy

Kornhaus

  1. 6.1. Das "Kornhaus" an der Elbe
  2. 6.2. Badeanstalt Kornhaus an der Elbe
  3. 6.3. Junkers-Wasserflughafen, Projekt einer Lichtsäule
  4. 6.4. Bootshaus der Junkers-Paddelgemeinschaft e.V.

6.1. Das "Kornhaus" an der Elbe

Das "Kornhaus" an der Elbe. Das heutige Restaurant "Kornhaus", in Dessaus Nordwesten im Stadtteil Ziebigk gelegen, wurde 1929/30 nach einem Entwurf des Bauhausarchitekten Carl Fieger errichtet. Die Ausstattung mit wärmetechnischen Geräten, Be- und Entlüftungsanlagen erfolgte durch die Firmen Junkers Kaloriferwerk und Junkers & Co. Es entstand ein Bauwerk, das den Zeitgeist der Moderne des 20. Jahrhunderts in anschaulicher Weise verkörpert und sich zugleich harmonisch in die natürliche Elbauenlandschaft einfügt.

Am 6. Juni 1930 wurde der moderne Gaststättenkomplex eröffnet. Oberbürgermeister Fritz Hesse hob in seiner Festrede hervor, dass Dessau nun die Stadt an Elbe und Mulde sei. Der historische Georgengarten, die Umgestaltung des Beckerbruchs als künftiger Volkspark, die vorbildlich errichtete Knarrberg-Siedlung, das große Elbe-Strandbad, die Bootswerft am Leopoldhafen und nicht zuletzt der Junkers-Wasserflugplatz am Kornhaus spiegelten den sozial-kulturellen und wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung Dessaus als Landeshauptstadt Anhalts in einer politisch schwierigen Zeit wider. Man muss Akzente setzen, sagte er zum Abschluss, und Dessau wird dies auch in der Zukunft tun.

Die zahlreichen Gäste dieser Einweihungsfeier konnten nicht nur die moderne Architektur in ihrer Funktionalität und künstlerischen Bauausführung bewundern, sondern sie erlebten noch einen weiteren spektakulären Höhepunkt. Junkers-Werkpiloten mit einer zweisitzigen Junkers-Maschine A 50 "Junior" flogen über das Kornhaus zum nebenanliegenden Junkers-Wasserflughafen, starteten auf der Elbe und absolvierten die Teststrecke Dessau-Leipzig mit einem Flugprogramm, in dessen Ergebnis fünf neue Weltrekorde erzielt werden konnten. So begegneten sich auch hier in reizvollster Elbelandschaft die technische und die künstlerische Moderne.

6.2. Badeanstalt Kornhaus an der Elbe (1954 geschlossen)

Badefreuden am Kornhaus. Das Junkers-Stahlhaus stand hochwasserfrei auf einer von Pfeilern gestützten Stahlbetonplattform. Joost Schmidt, Leiter der Bauhaus-Reklamewerkstatt, entwarf 1930 für das Kornhaus eine einprägsame Werbekarte.

Badeanstalt Kornhaus an der Elbe, im Mai/Juni 1929 in sechswöchiger Bauzeit entstanden. Am Unterluch der Elbe, genau gegenüber dem Restaurant "Kornhaus", baute die Firma Robert Richter die Badeanstalt mit dazugehörigen Gebäuden. Eine auf Eisenbetonpfeilern gelagerte zwischengespannte Steineisendecke bildete die Form einer großen rechteckigen, hochwassergeschützten Grundplatte, die mit einem Spezialbetonanstrich versiegelt war. Diese trug ein doppelwandiges, mit Glasfasergewebe isoliertes Wellblechhaus, nach Junkers-Patent-Nr. 525 015 vom 08.03.1928, mit einem Wohnbereich für den Bademeister sowie einem angrenzenden Gastronomie- und Sanitärteil. Die Dachdeckung bestand aus verklebten Asphaltplatten der Dessauer Firma Wilhelm Kohlmann. Im Untergeschoss befanden sich die temporär eingerichteten Umkleidekabinen. Nach dem großen Sommerhochwasser 1954 wurde die Badeanstalt geschlossen und es erfolgte der Abriss des Metallhauses. Die verbliebene Grundplatte ist heute noch am Elbufer zu sehen.

6.3. Junkers-Wasserflughafen, Projekt einer Lichtsäule (nicht realisiert)

Eine Junkers A 50w "Junior" landet auf der Elbe am Kornhaus, 1930. Mit der geplanten Lichtsäule am Leopoldhafen sollte auch nachts der Junkers-Frachtflugverkehr abgesichert werden.

Junkers-Wasserflughafen im Leopoldhafen an der Elbe, im Zeitraum 1918-1945. Gegenüber dem Unterluch der Elbe, nur durch eine Halbinsel vom Fluss getrennt, befindet sich seit 1845 eine Hafenanlage der Stadt Dessau. Der Hafen diente als Umschlagplatz für Baustoffe, Kohle und Getreide, sowie als Winterhafen für die Binnenschifffahrt. Neben einer Bootswerft bekam der Leopoldhafen in den 1920er Jahren noch eine weitere interessante Funktion als Junkers-Wasserflughafen. Das Junkers-Flugzeugwerk betrieb dort eine Instandsetzungs- und Wartungsanlage für ihre Wasserflugzeuge. 1918 kam das zweisitzige Wasserflugzeug, die Junkers J 11, hier vor ihrem Marineeinsatz zur praktischen Erprobung.

Aus diesen Flugversuchen auf dem Elbebogen am Leopoldhafen entwickelte sich in Kooperation mit der Schiffswerft der Gebrüder Sachsenberg Roßlau ein völlig neuartiger Fertigungsbereich zur Herstellung von aerodynamisch geformten Schwimmkörpern für Wasserflugzeuge. Das ermöglichte die Erschließung geeigneter Wasserflächen für die Nutzung im Luftverkehr. So entstand auf der Elbe ab August 1925 die "Blaue Linie", Europas erste Wasserfluglinie im regelmäßigen Flugverkehr zwischen Dresden-Johannstadt - Dessau - Magdeburg - Hamburg-Altona und zurück. Die nahezu 450 km legten die Junkers F 13w-Maschinen in etwa 4 Stunden mit Zwischenstopp zurück. Allein in der Sommersaison 1925 wurden 134 Passagierflüge registriert.

Der Elbbogen am Kornhaus war in der Folgezeit auch weiterhin ein international beachtenswerter Ort, als dort 1928/29 Prof. Hugo Junkers Raketenstartversuche mit schwerbeladenen Wasserflugzeugen durchführen ließ.

Projekt einer Lichtsäule, glasummantelter Aussichtsturm aus Stahlprofilen auf einem Stahlbetonhaus am Dessauer Leopoldhafen an der Elbe im Stadtteil Ziebigk. Mit diesem Entwurf von 1930, der auf Anregung von Prof. Hugo Junkers in Abstimmung mit dem Junkers-Baubüro und der Architekturabteilung des Bauhauses unter der Leitung von Ludwig Hilberseimer entstand, erhielt der tschechische Bauhausstudent Václav Zralý am 9. Juni 1931 sein Bauhaus-Diplom, Nr. 46.

Der Junkers-Wasserflugplatz sollte seine Wirtschaftlichkeit insbesondere durch den Nachtflugtransportverkehr bringen. Eine 39 m hohe Lichtsäule, die zwar die Form eines Aussichtsturmes haben aber hellscheinendes Licht erzeugen sollte, konnte nachts den Landeplatz am Kornhaus auf der Elbe als "strahlenden Fluss" erhellen. Ein interessantes Bauprojekt, dessen Realisierung infolge der Verschärfung der Weltwirtschaftskrise und der politischen Veränderungen in Deutschland nicht zur Ausführung kam.

6.4. Bootshaus der Junkers-Paddelgemeinschaft e.V.

Bootshaus der Junkers-Paddelgemeinschaft e.V. am Leopoldhafen an der Elbe im Stadtteil Ziebigk. Unter Anleitung eines Monteurs sowie mit drei Junkers-Lehrlingen aus dem Kaloriferwerk entstand im Mai 1930 nach einem Entwurf von Ottokar Paulssen, Ingenieur im Junkers-Baubüro, innerhalb von 14 Tagen ein ästhetischer, zeitlos wirkender technischer Zweckbau. Die Junkers-Stahllamellen-Konstruktion lag hochwasserfrei auf mehreren Betonpfeilern und war mit einem gewölbten holzverkleideten Spitzgiebel in Blickrichtung Elbe der Landschaft hervorragend angepasst.

Das Bootshaus der Junkers-Paddelgemeinschaft hat seine schönste Seite der Elbe zugewandt.

© 2016 Junkers-Pfad Dessau. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Impressum