Junkers factories

  1. 16.1. Site Junkers factories
  2. 16.2. Junkers & Co
  3. 16.3. Junkers-Flugzeugwerk (Ifa) [aeroplane factory]
  4. 16.4. Junkers-Motorenbau (Jumo) [engine production]
  5. 16.5. Junkers guesthouse

16.1. Site Junkers factories

When selecting the location and designing the Junkers factories in the district of Dessau west, landscape and cityscape were considered equally. So, the Junkers companies set up in the west part of Dessau from 1908, were not only divided according to technological or process engineering considerations. Each factory can be recognised as an individual company in its structure (municipal area) and in this way combats industrial monotony.

Junkers factories Dessau, layoutplan 1923.

16.2. Junkers & Co

Cöthener Kreisstraße, 1928, now Junkersstr. 35/36

Promotional leaflets for Junkers water heaters according to combustion construction and based on electricity, 1928/29.

16.3. Junkers-Flugzeugwerk (Ifa) [aeroplane factory]

Junkers steel hall in panel construction as painting plant, outer and inner view, 1929.

Cöthener Kreisstraße, now Junkersstr. 42 and 52

Trial assembly of a Junkers steel house from segmented components in the aeroplane working area, 1931.

Junkers factory buildings for aeroplane and engine production, 1928. Aeroplane advertising in 1927.

16.4. Junkers-Motorenbau (Jumo) [engine production]

Promotion for the internationally highly regarded Junkers-Motorenbau, 1928.

Cöthener Kreisstraße, now Junkersstr. 42 and 52

Research and construction office of Otto-Mader-Werk, architect Werner Issel with the architectural office of the Hugo-Junkers factories 1938.

JFM-Motorenwerk & Otto-Mader-Werk, today's Junkersstr. 42 and 52. Since the national socialists seized power in Germany in January 1933, they were permanently attempting to force the democrat and pacifist Hugo Junkers out of his factories, by hook or by crook, to have free reign for their expansion efforts. On behalf of the Reich Air Ministry Berlin, the Senior Public Prosecutor's Office Dessau and Anhalt constructed an accusation of treason against the country, against Hugo Junkers, using the so called "Enabling Act", as a result of which he was expropriated in autumn 1933, and placed under police house arrest. He had to leave the city of Dessau, he was no longer allowed to enter his factories, and he was even forbidden to contact his erstwhile employees. Hugo Junkers died on 3 February 1935, on his 76th birthday, in his house in Gauting near Munich. (see: www.junkers.de)

After Junkers' expropriation, the erstwhile Hugo Junkers factories - aeroplane construction and engine factory - merged to become a state-owned group "Junkers Flugzeug- und -Motorenwerke AG (JFM)" in June 1936. The good name of "Junkers" was calculatedly retained for the new public limited company, and his patents and scientific and technical knowledge were successfully used. Equipped in this way, and financed by the NS state, the group experienced a rapid technical and scientific development until 1940, which served military armament and ultimate led to the Second World War. In his diary entries, Hugo Junkers described the political conditions at the beginning of the 1930s in Germany.: "The political waves are rising. Man is fighting against man... Hate and a thirst for revenge are bad forces, they lead into the abyss."

As a research and development site for high performance aeroplane engines, from 1938 the Otto-Mader factory, part of the state-owned group, emerged directly next to the JFM engine factory. The designs for administration buildings, construction offices and teaching sites of the group came from the Berlin architect Werner Issel. Walter Issel who worked for the Reich Air Ministry procured the orders. The projects were carried out by the JFM construction department, and Junkers-Stahlbau until the beginning of the Second World War. Architect Werner Issel said the following, after criticism in the magazine "Monatshefte für Baukunst und Städtebau" 1939 [Monthly magazine for architecture and town planning]:"Of course it would be a huge exaggeration, if an architect wanted to talk about his buildings at the end of the work, because the engineer has an equally large percentage in many, and the biggest in some. But it was the task of the architect to give form to the will of the engineer, where he is the decision maker on the work, which seems convincing, without concealing or making anything more expensive."

But the design part of Junkers civil engineers is still easily recognisable in Werner Issel's projects. Particularly the screwed Junkers steel constructions enabled the quick construction of the large building complex, and the elegant solutions for staircase design refer to the modern architectural concept of the 1920s.

16.6. Junkers guesthouse

The erstwhile Junkers guesthouse presents itself to today's visitors, in the form of a Neo-Baroque villa.

Junkers guesthouse, Hünefeldstraße 3, district Alten. In the context of spectacular technical developments in aeroplane construction, the Junkers factories required a prestigious guesthouse, e.g. to prepare for crossing the Atlantic from Europe to North America with two Junkers aeroplanes, type W 33 ("Bremen" and "Europe"). Therefore, Junkers acquired the villa of the former manufacturer Robert Rekulé in 1927, in the district of Alten, near to the airfield, which was designed by the Cologne architect Hermann Eberhard Pflaume around 1908, in the Neo-Baroque style. Via an outdoor staircase, you get to a entrance area decorated with pillars, which in turn leads to a foyer spanning two storeys. Large, light rooms, sometimes opulently furnished, and an imposing outdoor terrace on the garden side, made it an ideal property as a guesthouse.

The Junkers architectural office took on the conversion. The guests were provided with comfortable accommodation, through furnishing with state of the art technical equipment produced by Junkers, and an excellent service. Entries in the guest book of the hotel are a testament to celebrities from Europe and overseas, who praised the pleasant stay, and thanked Junkers factories for the visit.



© 2022 Junkers-Pfad Dessau. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Imprint / Disclaimer / Privacy

Junkerswerke

  1. 16.1. Standort Junkerswerke
  2. 16.2. Junkers & Co
  3. 16.3. Junkers-Flugzeugwerk (Ifa)
  4. 16.4. Junkers-Motorenbau (Jumo)
  5. 16.5. Junkers-Gästehaus

16.1. Standort Junkerswerke

Bei der Standortwahl und Gestaltung der Junkerswerke im Stadtteil Dessau-West wurden Landschaft und Stadtbild gleichermaßen berücksichtigt. So gliederten sich die ab 1908 im Westteil von Dessau angelegten Junkers-Unternehmungen nicht nur nach technologischen oder verfahrenstechnischen Gesichtspunkten. Jedes Werk ist in seiner Struktur (Weichbild) als Einzelunternehmen zu erkennen und wirkt dadurch einer Industriemonotonie entgegen.

Junkerswerke Dessau, Lageplan 1923.

16.2. Junkers & Co

Cöthener Kreisstraße, 1928 , jetzt Junkersstr. 35/36

Reklameblätter zu Junkers-Warmwassergeräten nach brenntechnischer Bauart und auf Elektrobasis, 1928/29.

16.3. Junkers-Flugzeugwerk (Ifa)

Junkers-Stahlhalle in Paneelbauweise als Lackieranlage, Außen- und Innenansicht, 1929.

Cöthener Kreisstraße, jetzt Junkersstr. 42 und 52

Versuchsmontage eines Junkers-Stahlhauses aus segmentierten Bauteilen im Flugzeug-Werkbereich, 1931.

Junkers-Werksanlagen für den Flugzeug- und Motorenbau, 1928. Flugzeugwerbung im Jahr 1927.

16.4. Junkers-Motorenbau (Jumo)

Reklame für den international hoch geachteten Junkers-Motorenbau, 1928.

Cöthener Kreisstraße, jetzt Junkersstr. 42 und 52

Forschungs- und Konstruktionsbüros des Otto-Mader-Werks, Architekt Werner Issel mit dem Baubüro der Hugo-Junkers-Werke 1938.

JFM-Motorenwerk & Otto-Mader-Werk, heutiger Standort Junkersstr. 42 und 52. Seit der Machtergreifung der Nationalsozialisten in Deutschland im Januar 1933 wurde permanent versucht, den Demokraten und Pazifisten Hugo Junkers mit allen Mitteln aus seinen Werken zu drängen, um freie Hand zu haben für ihr Expansionsstreben. Im Auftrag des Reichsluftfahrtministeriums Berlin konstruierte die Oberstaatsanwaltschaft Dessau und Anhalt mit dem Mittel des sogenannten "Ermächtigungsgesetzes" den Vorwurf des Landesverrates gegen Hugo Junkers, in dessen Folge er im Herbst 1933 enteignet und unter polizeilichen Hausarrest gestellt wurde. Die Stadt Dessau musste er verlassen, seine Werke durfte er nicht mehr betreten, auch der Kontakt zu seinen einstigen Mitarbeitern wurde ihm untersagt. Hugo Junkers starb am 3. Februar 1935, an seinem 76. Geburtstag in seinem Haus in Gauting bei München. (siehe: www.junkers.de)

Nach Junkers Enteignung fusionierten im Juni 1936 die einstigen Hugo Junkers Werke -Flugzeugbau und Motorenwerk- zum Staatskonzern "Junkers Flugzeug- und -Motorenwerke AG (JFM)". Mit Kalkül wurde der gute Name "Junkers" für die neue Aktiengesellschaft beibehalten, erfolgreich seine Patente und das wissenschaftlich-technische Know-how genutzt. So ausgerüstet und finanziert vom NS Staat erlebte der Konzern bis 1940 eine rasante technische und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung, die der militärischen Aufrüstung diente und letztendlich in den Zweiten Weltkrieg führte. In seinen Tagebuchnotizen beschrieb Hugo Junkers die politischen Verhältnisse zu Beginn der 1930er Jahre in Deutschland: "Die politischen Wogen gehen hoch. Mensch kämpft gegen Mensch Hass und Rachsucht sind schlechte Kutscher, sie führen in den Abgrund."

Als Forschungs- und Entwicklungsstätte für Hochleistungs-Flugmotoren entstand ab 1938 unmittelbar neben dem JFM-Motorenwerk das Otto-Mader-Werk, Teil des Staatskonzerns. Die Entwürfe für Verwaltungsbauten, Konstruktionsbüros und Lehrstätten des Konzerns entstanden vom Berliner Architekten Werner Issel. Der im Reichsluftfahrtministerium tätige Walter Issel vermittelte die Aufträge. Umgesetzt wurden die Projekte von der JFM-Baudirektion und des Junkers-Stahlbaus bis zu Beginn des Zweiten Weltkrieges. Architekt Werner Issel äußert sich nach Kritik in der Zeitschrift "Monatshefte für Baukunst und Städtebau" 1939 wie folgt:"Natürlich wäre es eine krasse Überhebung, wenn der Architekt am Schluss des Werkes von, seinen´ Bauten sprechen wollte, denn ebenso großen Anteil hat an vielen der Ingenieur, an einigen den größten. Aber Sache des Architekten war es doch, dem Willen des Ingenieurs, wo er der Bestimmende des Werkes war, eine Form zu geben, die überzeugend wirkt, ohne zu ,kaschieren´ oder etwas zu verteuern."

Aber der gestalterische Anteil der Junkers-Bauingenieure bei Werner Issels Projekten ist noch gut erkennbar. Gerade die geschraubten Junkers-Stahlbaukonstruktionen ermöglichten die zügige Errichtung des Gebäudegroßkomplexes und die eleganten Lösungen der Treppenhausgestaltung verweisen auf die moderne Bauauffassung der 1920er Jahre.

16.5. Junkers-Gästehaus

In Form einer neobarocken Villa präsentiert sich das einstige Junkers-Gästehaus dem heutigen Besucher.

Junkers-Gästehaus, Hünefeldstraße 3, Stadtteil Alten. Im Zusammenhang mit spektakulären technischen Entwicklungen im Flugzeugbau benötigten die Junkerswerke ein repräsentatives Gästehaus, wie zum Beispiel in Vorbereitung der Atlantiküberquerung von Europa nach Nordamerika mit zwei Junkersflugzeugen des Typs W 33 ("Bremen" und "Europa"). Im Jahr 1927 erwarb deshalb Junkers im Stadtteil Alten in Flugplatznähe die Villa des ehemaligen Fabrikanten Robert Rekulé, die um 1908 der Kölner Architekt Hermann Eberhard Pflaume im Stil des Neo-Barock entwarf. Über eine Freitreppe gelangte man zu einem säulengeschmückten Eingangsbereich, der wiederum zu einem über zwei Geschosse reichendes Foyer führte. Große helle Räume, teilweise prunkvoll ausgestattet und eine imposante Freiterrasse zur Gartenseite waren ein ideales Objekt als Gästehaus.

Das Junkers Baubüro übernahm den Umbau. Durch die Ausstattung mit modernsten technischen Geräten aus Junkers´scher Produktion und einem hervorragenden Service waren die Gäste komfortabel untergebracht. Einträge im Gästebuch des Hauses zeugen von Prominenz aus Europa und Übersee, die den angenehmen Aufenthalt lobten und sich für die Besichtigung der Junkerswerke bedankten.



© 2016 Junkers-Pfad Dessau. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Impressum