City Centre

  1. 10.1. "Cafe´ Altes Theater" (A-The´)
  2. 10.2. Eduard Borchardt office building and department store
  3. 10.3. Hotel Goldener Beutel
  4. 10.4. Museum für Naturkunde und Vorgeschichte (Museum for Natural History and Prehistory)
  5. 10.5."SPUK" house

10.1. "Cafe´ Altes Theater" (A-The´) with theatre passage (destroyed in 1944)

The Cafe´ and concert garden of the "A-The" had international flair, was a meeting point for Bauhaus and theatre artists. In the background of the picture is the business area of the theatre passage, where the city advertising studio of the Junkers factory was also located. Photo from 1927.

"Cafe´Altes Theater" (A-The´) with theatre passage, Kavalierstraße, Dessau, 1926/27. Architect Erich Kurt Elster in cooperation with the Junkers steel construction. Interior design of the "Cafés A-The" carried out by the Bauhaus, and the passage with shops emerged in the style of the modern era. Junkers & Co. delivered and installed the thermotechnical equipment. The "Junkers city studio" - a studio for technical advertising and promotion of the Junkers factory - managed by artist Friedrich Peter Drömmer, was also located in the theatre passage from 1927-33.

10.2. Eduard Borchardt office building and department store (not executed)

Draft project for the office building of Eduard Borchardt, next to the "Alten Theater" in Kavalierstraße.

Eduard Borchardt office building and department store, Kavalierstraße at the Alten Theater, Dessau, 1931/32. Bauhaus member and architect: Eduard Ludwig. He received the Bauhaus diploma no. 72 on 15.06.1932 from the 3rd Bauhaus director Ludwig Mies van der Rohe. Dr.-Ing. Wilhelm Klingenberg, Chief Structural engineer at Junkers Stahlbau, calculated the steel skeleton construction of the project. The upcoming national socialism, anti-Semitism and the closure of Bauhaus in 1932 prevented the execution of this modern building process.

10.3. Hotel Goldener Beutel

The winter garden with the concert hall in the Hotel Goldener Beutel in Steinstraße, had a visible roof construction in the Junkers steel slat design, 1929.

Hotel Goldener Beutel, Steinstr. 3/4. 1926/28 Construction of the prestigious, modern hotel with large concert hall and winter garden. Flat arch hall in steel slat design. Construction design: Junkers steel construction. Total equipment with thermotechnology devices from calorimeter and Junkers & Co. On 7 March 1945, the city centre and also the well known hotel were completely destroyed by bombs.

10.4. Museum für Naturkunde und Vorgeschichte (Museum for Natural History and Prehistory)

Invitation to the opening of the Junkers exhibition on 03.02.1929, the 70th birthday of Prof. Hugo Junkers. The atrium of the natural history museum was also included in the exhibition, as a water colour painting by Max Lösel from 1929 documents.

Museum for Natural History and Prehistory, Askanische Str. 28a, founded in 1927. Originally set up as the Leopolddankstift 1746-50, then used as an art gallery. First podium for exhibitions of the Bauhaus. In 1927 , the inner courtyard was fitted with a slightly vaulted Junkers steel slat roof, the museum facilities were modernised and fitted with thermotechnology devices from the Junkers factory. The "Junkers exhibition" also took place here from 1929-1935, a didactically designed technology exhibition about the creative performances in research, development and product manufacture by the Junkers factory. In the hail of bombs on 7 March 1945, the museum was completely burned out. From 1948, the building was rebuilt, with subsequent use as a natural history museum.

10.5. "SPUK" house

"SPUK"-house, the "Sport and course house", formerly the building of the Dessau local health insurance fund on Wallstraße, direction Lilly-Herking-Platz, belongs to Gymnasium Philanthropinum. It is a modern building, according to the design of the Dessau architect Erich Kurt Elster, and was inaugurated on 21 December 1930. Building design of the steel construction carried out by Junkers steel construction.

In the original combination of communal facilities with residential buildings, the building complex "worked" in the literal sense, until the turn of the 21st Century. While the public and generally accessible communal area and the offices of the local health insurance fund were housed in the large ground floor, the flats were in the three upper floors, sometimes even with large roof terraces. Fitted with the latest Junkers thermotechnology, Junkers gas - hot water apparatus, and interior design with built in cupboards for bedroom and kitchen, custom manufacture by the Junkers furniture factory, the flats had a quality and high standard. For the large hall of the local health insurance fund, the Bauhaus master Joost Schmidt designed a "Bauhaus clock", with a timeless modern face, while the office furnishing with steel plate furniture (filing shelves, cupboards, hanging registry, archive storage) according to the Junkers patent no. 525 015 from 8 March 1928, no. 547 664 from 24 November 1929 and no. 556 970 from 29 October 1930 was carried out by the Junkers calorimeter.

Extensively reconstructed in 2007 and converted for training purposes, the building is a training location now.

© 2022 Junkers-Pfad Dessau. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Imprint / Disclaimer / Privacy

Innenstadt

  1. 10.1. "Cafe´ Altes Theater" (A-The´)
  2. 10.2. Geschäfts- und Kaufhaus Eduard Borchardt
  3. 10.3. Hotel Goldener Beutel
  4. 10.4. Museum für Naturkunde und Vorgeschichte
  5. 10.5."SPUK"-Haus

10.1. "Cafe´ Altes Theater" (A-The´) mit Theaterpassage (1944 zerstört)

Der Cafe´- und Konzertgarten des "A-The" besaß internationales Flair, ein Treffpunkt der Bauhaus- und Theaterkünstler. Im Bildhintergrund der Geschäftsbereich der Theaterpassage, wo sich auch das Stadt-Werbeatelier der Junkerswerke befand. Foto von 1927.

"Cafe´Altes Theater" (A-The´) mit Theaterpassage, Kavalierstraße, Dessau, 1926/27. Architekt Erich Kurt Elster in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Junkers-Stahlbau. Innenausstattung des "Cafés A-The" erfolgte durch das Bauhaus und die Passage mit Geschäften entstand im Zeitgeist der Moderne. Junkers & Co. lieferte und installierte die wärmetechnischen Geräte. In der Theaterpassage befand sich auch von 1927-33 das "Junkers-Stadtatelier", ein Studio für Technische Werbung und Reklame der Junkerswerke, das der Künstler Friedrich Peter Drömmer leitete.

10.2. Geschäfts- und Kaufhaus Eduard Borchardt (nicht realisiert)

Entwurfsprojekt für das Geschäftshaus von Eduard Borchardt neben dem "Alten Theater" in der Kavalierstraße.

Geschäfts- und Kaufhaus Eduard Borchardt, Kavalierstraße am Alten Theater, Dessau, 1931/32. Bauhäusler und Architekt: Eduard Ludwig. Dieser erhielt am 15.06.1932 das Bauhaus-Diplom Nr. 72 vom 3. Bauhausdirektor Ludwig Mies van der Rohe. Dr.-Ing. Wilhelm Klingenberg, Chefstatiker im Junkers-Stahlbau, berechnete die Stahlskelett-Konstruktion des Projektes. Der aufkommende Nationalsozialismus, Antisemitismus und die Schließung des Bauhauses 1932 verhinderten die Realisierung dieses modernen Bauvorhabens.

10.3. Hotel Goldener Beutel

Der Wintergarten mit dem Konzertsaal im Hotel Goldener Beutel in der Steinstraße besaß eine sichtbare Dachkonstruktion in Junkers-Stahllamellenbauweise, 1929.

Hotel Goldener Beutel, Steinstr. 3/4. 1926/28 Bau der repräsentativen, modernen Hotelanlage mit großem Konzertsaal und Wintergarten. Flachbogenhalle in Stahl-Lamellen-Bauweise. Bauausführung: Junkers-Stahlbau. Gesamtausstattung mit wärmetechnischen Geräten von Junkers Kaloriferwerk und Junkers & Co. Am 07. März 1945 wurden das Stadtzentrum und auch das bekannte Hotel durch Bomben völlig zerstört.

10.4. Museum für Naturkunde und Vorgeschichte

Einladungskarte zur Einweihung der Junkers-Lehrschau am 03.02.1929, dem 70. Geburtstag von Prof. Hugo Junkers. Auch der Lichthof des Naturkundemuseums war mit in die Lehrschau einbezogen, wie ein Aquarell von Max Lösel von 1929 dokumentiert.

Museum für Naturkunde und Vorgeschichte, Askanische Str. 28a, 1927 gegründet. Ursprünglich als Leopolddankstift 1746-50 errichtet, danach Nutzung als Kunsthalle. Erstes Podium für Ausstellungen des Bauhauses. 1927 wurde der Innenhof mit einem leicht gewölbten Junkers-Stahllamellendach versehen, die Museumsräume modernisiert und mit wärmetechnischen Geräten der Junkerswerke ausgestattet. Hier befand sich auch von 1929-1935 die "Junkers-Lehrschau", eine didaktisch gestaltete Technikausstellung über die kreativen Leistungen in Forschung, Entwicklung und Produktherstellung der Junkerswerke. Im Bombenhagel am 7. März 1945 brannte das Museum völlig aus. Ab 1948 erfolgte der Wiederaufbau des Gebäudes mit anschließender Nutzung als Naturkundemuseum.

10.5. "SPUK"-Haus

"SPUK"-Haus, das "Sport- und Kurs-Haus", früher das Gebäude der Dessauer Ortskrankenkasse in der Wallstraße Richtung Lilly-Herking-Platz, gehört zum Gymnasium Philanthropinum. Es ist ein Bau der Moderne nach einem Entwurf des Dessauer Architekten Erich Kurt Elster und wurde am 21. Dezember 1930 eingeweiht. Bauausführung der Stahlkonstruktion erfolgte durch den Junkers-Stahlbau.

In der ursprünglichen Kombination Kommunaleinrichtung mit Wohngebäude "funktionierte" der Gebäudekomplex im sprichwörtlichen Sinne bis an die Schwelle des 21. Jahrhunderts. Während der öffentliche und allgemein zugängliche Kommunalbereich und die Büroräume der Ortskrankenkasse im großflächigen Parterre untergebracht waren, befanden sich die Wohnungen in den drei Obergeschossen, teilweise sogar mit großen Dachterrassen. Ausgestattet mit der modernsten Junkers-Wärmetechnik, Junkers-Gas-Warmwasser-Apparaturen und einer Inneneinrichtung mit Einbauschränken für Schlafzimmer und Küche, Maßanfertigung der Junkers-Möbelfabrik, besaßen die Wohnungen einen qualitätsvollen und hohen Standard. Für den großen Schalterraum der Ortskrankenkasse hatte der Bauhausmeister Joost Schmidt eine "Bauhausuhr" mit einem zeitlos modern gestalteten Zifferblatt entworfen, während die Büroausstattung mit Stahlblechmobiliar (Aktenregale, Schränke, Hängeregistrierung, Archivablage) nach den Junkers-Patenten Nr. 525 015 vom 8. März 1928, Nr. 547 664 vom 24. November 1929 und Nr. 556 970 vom 29. Oktober 1930 durch das Junkers-Kaloriferwerk erfolgte.

Im Jahr 2007 umfassend rekonstruiert und für Schulzwecke umgebaut, ist das Gebäude heute ein Ort der Bildung.

© 2016 Junkers-Pfad Dessau. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Impressum