Train Station and Gas District

  1. 9.1. At Wörlitzer Train Station
  2. 9.2. Centralwerkstatt (central works) and gasworks
  3. 9.3. Junkerswerke Main Offices
  4. 9.4. Dessau gasworks conference centre

9.1. At Wörlitzer Train Station

Square in front of the Wörlitzer Train Station . The square in front of the former Wörlitzer Train Station, the Unruhstraße (street) with its multi-storey brick houses, an old restored production building - today the library building of the Federal Environment Agency (UBA) and the brick wall at the entrance to the former Schwarzen Weg (Black Path) built in Jugendstil (Art Nouveau) are reminders of the time as Dessau's emerging gas industry in the 19th century. A hundred years ago the Dessau Ballonplatz was located on the grounds of what is today the Federal Environment Agency (UBA) with its highly-modern building complex. "Lighter than air" was the motto of the day back then, and the Royal residence and capital city of Dessau took part in this happening. The numerous industrial companies could point to their innovative research work and very sought-after products.

9.2. Centralwerkstatt (central works) and gasworks

The Kaiserplatz (Emperor's Square) in Dessau, a prestigious residential area for the city's up-and-coming middle classes, known today as Friedensplatz. In the background, the historical gas district, a cradle of the European gas industry. Photo Junkers-Aerial photograph 1919

Centralwerkstatt und Gaswerk der Deutschen Continental Gas-Gesellschaft Dessau (Central Works and gas works of the German Continental Gas Company Dessau) (DCGG, called Conti for short) in Unruhstraße and Wolfgangstraße. The cradle of the German and European gas technology since 1855. Company headquarters: "Versuchsstation für Gasmotoren von Oechelhaeuser und Junkers" (Test station for gas motors from Oechelhaeuser und Junkers) 1889, "Hugo Junkers Civil-Engineer" 1892.

Together with Wilhelm von Oechelhaeuser Junior, Hugo Junkers developed the famous opposed piston engine. In one cylinder, two drive pistons run reciprocally, an energy-saving and efficient principle in accordance with the patent specification 66 961, dated 8th July, 1892. The headquarters of the Federal Environment Agency (UBA), as well as SITEL GmbH, UCI Kinowelt (cinema) and a supermarket are now located on these historical grounds.

9.3. Junkerswerke Head Offices (destroyed in 1945)

The Junkerswerke Head Offices located at Kaiserplatz, with the Hugo Junkers personal office.

Junkerswerke Head Offices located at what was once Kaiserplatz 21, today Friedensplatz, Dessau. The switchboard for the Junker factories was located here from 1915 until 1933. Reichspräsident (President of the German Empire) Friedrich Ebert visited Professor Junkers here on the 6th of December 1922 and said the following:

"In the Junker factories we see shining image of the most modern technology and technical-scientific research work, an institute of highly qualified German work ... - a thinking factory!"

9.4. Tagungszentrum (Conference Centre) Gaswerk Dessau (Partially destroyed in 1945, subsequently removed)

Into the 1930s, the "Tagungszentrum Gaswerk Dessau" represented the scientific-technical centres of both German and international gas-related research. The Junkers-Gas-Warmwasser-Reklame (Junkers-Gas-Warm water-Advertising) was also designed with this in mind during this period.

Tagungszentrum Gaswerk Dessau, a semi-round structure at the corner of Wolfgangstraße to the flyover and to the Wörlitzer train station. Following the purchase of the company Askania AG, formally the Centralwerkstatt of the DCGG, 1937 by Junkers & Co, the production area for the manufacture of technical household gas appliances was expanded. In order to better market the Junkers gas-appliances technology, a conference centre with a training show was created within the same year. A screw-retained steel skeleton, whose modern structural design was implemented by Junkers-Stahlbau (Steel Construction). The methods applied in the training video "Gas für Haushalt, Gewerbe und Industrie" (Gas for households, business and industry") could be traced back to what Professor Hugo Junkers intended, and showed that targeted research and its application can allow products to be created that went on the revolutionise household technology, and with that social and community standards. An air-raid in that part of the city where the train station was located on the 16th of January 1945 destroyed the Tagungszentrum. A furniture store was established in the ground floor (formerly the training show) that survived the bombing raid, and it remained in business up until 1959. Over the course of the redesigning of the street plan and the area in front of the train station, as well as the flyover - it was demolished in the spring of 1960. The building that houses the UCI Kinowelt cinema now stands on this spot.



© 2022 Junkers-Pfad Dessau. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Imprint / Disclaimer / Privacy

Bahnhof und Gasviertel

  1. 9.1. Am Wörlitzer Bahnhof
  2. 9.2. Centralwerkstatt und Gaswerk
  3. 9.3. Hauptbüro der Junkerswerke
  4. 9.4. Tagungszentrum Gaswerk Dessau

9.1. Am Wörlitzer Bahnhof

Platz vor dem Wörlitzer Bahnhof. Der Platz vor dem ehemaligen Wörlitzer Bahnhof, die Unruhstraße mit ihren mehrgeschossigen Backsteinhäusern, eine alte restaurierte Werkhalle, heute Bibliotheksgebäude des Umweltbundesamtes (UBA)und die im Jugendstil errichtete Backsteinmauer am Durchgang zum früheren Schwarzen Weg sind Erinnerungen an die aufstrebende Dessauer Gasindustrie des 19. Jahrhunderts. Auf dem Gelände des heutigen Umweltbundesamtes mit seinem hochmodernen Gebäudekomplex befand sich vor einhundert Jahren der Dessauer Ballonplatz. "Leichter als Luft" hieß damals die Devise und die Residenz- und Landeshauptstadt Dessau nahm an diesem Geschehen teil. Mit innovativen Forschungen und gut absetzbaren Erzeugnissen konnten die zahlreichen industriellen Unternehmungen aufwarten.

9.2. Centralwerkstatt und Gaswerk

Der Kaiserplatz in Dessau, ein repräsentatives Wohngebiet des aufstrebenden Bürgertums der Stadt, heute Friedensplatz. Im Bildhintergrund das historische Gasviertel, eine Wiege der europäischen Gasindustrie. Foto Junkers-Luftbild 1919

Centralwerkstatt und Gaswerk der Deutschen Continental Gas-Gesellschaft Dessau (DCGG, kurz Conti genannt) in der Unruhstraße und Wolfgangstraße. Seit 1855 Wiege der deutschen und europäischen Gastechnik. Sitz der Firmen: "Versuchsstation für Gasmotoren von Oechelhaeuser und Junkers" 1889, "Hugo Junkers Civil-Ingenieur" 1892.

Mit Wilhelm von Oechelhaeuser Jun. entwickelte Hugo Junkers den berühmten Gegenkolben-Verbrennungsmotor. In einem Zylinder laufen zwei Antriebskolben gegeneinander, ein energiesparendes und effizientes Prinzip nach Patentschrift 66 961 vom 8. Juli 1892. Heute befindet sich am historischen Standort der Sitz des Umweltbundesamtes, ferner die SITEL GmbH, die UCI Kinowelt und ein Supermarkt.

9.3. Hauptbüro der Junkerswerke (1945 zerstört)

Das Hauptbüro der Junkerswerke am Kaiserplatz mit dem persönlichen Arbeitszimmer von Hugo Junkers.

Hauptbüro der Junkerswerke am ehemaligen Kaiserplatz 21, heute Friedensplatz, Dessau. Hier befand sich zwischen 1915 und 1933 die Schaltzentrale der Junkerswerke. Reichspräsident Friedrich Ebert besuchte am 6. Dezember 1922 Prof. Junkers und äußerte sich wie folgt:

"Wir sehen in den Junkers-Werken ein glänzendes Bild modernster Technik und technisch-wissenschaftlicher Forschungsarbeit, ein Institut hoch qualifizierter deutscher Arbeit … - eine Denkfabrik!"

9.4. Tagungszentrum Gaswerk Dessau (1945 teilzerstört, später abgetragen)

Das "Tagungszentrum Gaswerk Dessau" repräsentierte bis in die 1930er Jahre das wissenschaftlich-technische Zentrum der deutschen und internationalen Gasforschung, In diesem Sinne gestaltete sich auch die Junkers-Gas-Warmwasser-Reklame jener Zeit.

Tagungszentrum Gaswerk Dessau, ein Halbrundbau an der Ecke Wolfgangstraße zur Überführung und zum Wörlitzer Bahnhof. Nach dem Erwerb der Firma Askania AG, ehemals Centralwerkstatt der DCGG, 1937 durch Junkers & Co, erfolgte eine Erweiterung der Fertigung haushaltstechnischer Gasgeräte. Zur besseren Vermarktung der Junkers-Gasgerätetechnik entstand noch im gleichen Jahr ein Tagungszentrum mit einer Lehrschau gastechnischer Haushaltsgeräte. Ein verschraubter Stahlskelettbau, dessen moderne Bauausführung durch den Junkers-Stahlbau realisiert wurde. Die Methodik der Lehrschau "Gas für Haushalt, Gewerbe und Industrie" ging noch auf Intentionen von Prof. Hugo Junkers zurück und zeigte, dass zielgerichtete Forschung und deren Anwendung Produkte entstehen ließ, die die Haushaltstechnik revolutionierte und den sozialen und gesellschaftlichen Standard beeinflusste. Ein Bombenangriff auf das Bahnhofsviertel am 16. Januar 1945 zerstörte das Tagungszentrum. Im noch erhaltenen Erdgeschoss (ehemalige Lehrschau) etablierte sich bis 1959 ein Möbelhaus. Im Zuge der Neugestaltung der Trassenführung -Bahnhofsvorplatz und Überführung- wurde es im Frühjahr 1960 abgerissen. Heute steht auf diesem Gelände die UCI Kinowelt.



© 2016 Junkers-Pfad Dessau. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Impressum