"Dessau-Nord" (North Dessau)

  1. 8.1. Professor Hugo Junkers private home
  2. 8.2. Two-family house for leading Junkers employees
  3. 8.3. Badeanstalt Rehsumpf

8.1. Professor Hugo Junkers private home

A villa build during the Gründerzeit period, but with a modern family, very much in keeping with the zeitgeist of the time, a family which played an important role in the intellectual, cultural and scientific live well beyond the boundaries of its home city, while also always contributing to social issues.

Professor Hugo Junkers home, Albrechtstraße 109, a middle-class home from the Gründerzeit period in the direct vicinity of the Petruskirche (Church of St. Peter) and to the Funkplatz (square). Hugo and Therese Junkers bought the house in 1923 on the occasion of their silver wedding anniversary. The Junkers family had twelve children, seven daughter and five sons. In 1933 their idyllic family life came to an abrupt end. Hugo Junkers was forced to leave Dessau by the Nazis on October 18th, 1933, the city's whose economic, political, cultural and social life he did so much to influence, due to a fabricated threat of prosecution for treason.

At the beginning of 1923, Professor Junkers had the house fitted out with various thermal-technical devices from his own manufacturing company. He turned his private home, his castle, into his "personal experimentation laboratory" in order to test the practical feasibility of the products that his company produced. This resulted in him creating approximately 55 patent specifications in the area of thermal-technical application in the years from 1924 through to 1933. Among these patented innovations were the water-saving bathtub, various heating stoves and wall air heaters, hot-water heater, automatic temperature regulators, innovative mixer water taps for bathroom boilers and warm-water devices, as well as shower-heads in a range of versions and modern designs.

The interior design of his family home was also in keeping with the modern zeitgeist of the 1920s. A cooperative working relationship was already entered into with Bauhaus in Weimar in 1923. Junkers & Co. installed the required warm-water appliances for the experiment house am Horn. The Bauhaus students now work in the Professor Junkers private office and design the living areas in the Junkers house. In 1926, Marcel Breuer, head of the Bauhaustischlerei (Bauhaus joinery), took over the entire kitchen interior with built-in cupboards, service hatch, tables, drip shelf and cabinets together with his workshop. High and deep wardrobes were created for the bedroom, and these were complemented with a mirrored toilet alcove for Ms Junkers and a tapestry from the Bauhaus weaving mill. Numerous pieces of tubular furniture from Marcel Breuer set modern trends with the apparent lightness of their design in the Junkers villa in middle-class design. In 1930, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, who would later go on to become Bauhaus director, designed the study with undulating tubular armchair and elegant glass table, as well as a seating corner in the houses foyer. The wall-painting department at Bauhaus provided the various colour designs in the different rooms, although bright colours dominated.

The open-minded attitude that the Junker family had toward Bauhaus and its ideas could not only be seen in the member ship of not only Professor Junker, but also his daughter among the Bauhaus fans. He not only tolerated the artistic Avantgarde, but supported it, and sought to have contact and interaction with intellectuals. This also included becoming involved in social projects, such as the financial support of the Bauhaus canteen and providing midday meals to Bauhaus students on Sundays in their home. The job orders that the Junkers factories gave to Bauhaus, and which were then carried out by Bauhaus, not only ensured income for the Bauhaus-Gesellschaft mbH, but also provided the opportunity for creativity and innovation to thrive in both domains. These highlights of innovation came to a bitter and abrupt end with the closure of the Bauhaus in Dessau from the 1st of October, 1932, and the expropriation and expulsion from Germany of Hugo Junkers on the 18th of October, 1933.

The appearance of the Junkers home changed significantly due to effects of the war.

On the 3rd of February, 1984, on the occasion of his 125th birthday, a plaque was unveiled on the house in Albrechtstraße 109 to commemorate his significant influence as engineer, scientist, aeronautics pioneer, industrialist, democrat and global citizen.

8.2. Two-family house for leading Junkers employees

The house continues to radiate an aura right up until the present day and fascinates due to its structural-artistic design and interesting colours. The wall frieze in particular is impressive thanks to its wide variety of forms and the alternating effect between art and technique.

Two-family house for leading Junkers employees as a corner building, Ringstraße/Ecke Johann-Sebastian-Bach-Straße at the Schillerpark in Stadtteil Nord, 1923/24. An experimental structure from the early construction history involving the use of applied thermal technology built for workers employed the Junkers factories. Leading employees and pilots lived in these houses together with their families and supported the practically-oriented Junkers research involving thermal-technology based gas "test" devices in the house. This meant that not only the rooms in each house were divided differently, but each house also had a different principles of heat supply and the discharge of exhaust gasses.

Prior to the implementation of this project, tests were conducted in wind tunnels in order to test the physical behaviour of gases of differing concentrations following their combustion in the airflow on a model of a house. These tests led to the development of new types of chimney extractor hoods which were aimed at eliminating the build-up of unwanted generations of smoke and to prevent the uncontrolled occurrence of carbon-monoxide. Unfortunately during the reconstruction of the building in 1997, these experimental systems could not be recreated, which meant that interesting technical objects exemplifying Junker ideas were lost.

The wind-tunnel tests conducted before the construction of the house was begun with provided the realisation that in the case of such buildings, the loss of heat at its corners was far higher. It was for this reason that the Junkers construction company rounded the edges of the corner building and the bays; this created a flowing design and so achieved an efficient heat efficiency rate.

In accordance with the wishes of Professor Junkers, the structural-artistic design of the building should be adapted to match the appearance of the neighbouring Jugendstil building. This was achieved with a circumferential wall frieze, which displayed images of baroque cherubs holding technical devices produced by Junkers factories. An interesting artistic work produced by the Dessau sculpture Paul Brenning and in this form an artistic speciality, which can still be admired right up until today.

8.3. Badeanstalt Rehsumpf

With the amenities such as communal family showers, flood-proof leisure-time and social buildings that the Junkers construction office built for the Badeanstalt Rehsumpf in Dessau, it created social buildings that would go on to set the standard for future such projects.

Badeanstalt Rehsumpf. The swimming club "Dessauer Schwimmklub von 1904, e.V. Dessau-Jonitz/Rosenthal" located on a branch of a river between the Jonitzer Mühle (Mill) and the city district Wasserstadt, known todays simply as Rehsumpf was the private leisure-time location for the Junker family. Professor Hugo Junkers owned a small bathing house here, which developed into a location where the nature and sport fans among Dessau's citizens could relax and enjoy time together during the warm days of summer. Leisure time and recuperation could be enjoyed here, but it was also very likely a place for stimulating in a cultural-intellectual, as well as social sense. It was here that Dessau's citizens got the chance to experience their "Professor" as a private and nature-loving person with a competitive streak when it came to sport, as a fellow citizen and as a father. He actively used his companies Junkers & Co und Kaloriferwerk in order to support bathing culture, and had hygiene facilities and amenities built and installed open-air swimming pools and indoor swimming pools in Dessau, while also sponsoring shower facilities and refreshment dispensers. His commissioned his construction company to create flood-proof social-purpose buildings made of metal. A range of draft designs were created for these temporary houses with large sun terraces, pavilions, raised vantage points for lifeguards, diving towers and refreshment stands. All these amenities were the tangible display of his strong commitment to social recreational-sports projects in Dessau.

© 2022 Junkers-Pfad Dessau. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Imprint / Disclaimer / Privacy

"Dessau-Nord"

  1. 8.1. Wohnhaus von Prof. Hugo Junkers
  2. 8.2. Doppelwohnhaus für leitende Junkers-Mitarbeiter
  3. 8.3. Badeanstalt Rehsumpf

8.1. Wohnhaus von Prof. Hugo Junkers

Eine Villa aus der Gründerzeit, jedoch mit einer äußerst im Zeitgeist der Moderne wirkenden Familie, die das geistige, kulturelle und wissenschaftliche Leben weit über die Stadtgrenzen hinaus mit gestaltete und sich stets sozial engagierte.

Wohnhaus von Prof. Hugo Junkers, Albrechtstraße 109, ein gutbürgerliches Haus aus der Gründerzeit in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zur Petruskirche und zum Funkplatz gelegen. Hugo und Therese Junkers erwarben es 1923 aus Anlass ihrer Silbernen Hochzeit. Die Familie Junkers hatte zwölf Kinder, sieben Töchter und fünf Söhne. 1933 nahm die Familienidylle ein jähes Ende. Hugo Junkers wurde nach einer fingierten Prozessandrohung wegen Landesverrats von den Nationalsozialisten gezwungen, am 18. Oktober 1933 Dessau, die Stadt seines Wirkens in Wirtschaft, Politik, Kultur und Gesellschaft zu verlassen.

Anfang 1923 ließ Prof. Junkers das Haus komplett mit den verschiedensten wärme-technischen Geräten aus eigener Produktion ausstatten. Damit wurde auch sein privates Reich zum "persönlichen Experimentierfeld" der Praxistauglichkeit seiner Firmenerzeugnisse. So entstanden im Zeitraum von 1924-1933 rund 55 Patentschriften auf wärmetechnischem Gebiet. Dazu gehörten unter anderem die Sparbadewanne, verschiedene Heizöfen und Wandlufterhitzer, Heißwasserspeicher, selbsttätige Temperaturregler, neuartige Mischbatterien für Badeöfen und Warmwassergeräte bis hin zu Brauseköpfen in unterschiedlichen Ausführungen und modernem Design.

Auch die Inneneinrichtung im Wohnhaus Junkers entsprach dem Zeitgeist der Moderne der 1920er Jahre. Bereits 1923 kam es zur Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bauhaus in Weimar. Für das Versuchshaus am Horn installierte die Firma Junkers & Co. die erforderlichen Warmwasser-Apparaturen. Nun arbeiteten Bauhausstudenten im Privatbüro von Prof. Junkers und gestalteten die Wohnräume im Haus Junkers. Marcel Breuer, Leiter der Bauhaustischlerei, übernahm 1926 mit seiner Werkstatt die gesamte Küchenausstattung mit Einbauschränken, Durchreiche, Tische, Abtropfregalen und Vitrinen. Für das Schlafzimmer wurden tiefe und hohe Schränke gefertigt, ergänzt mit einer verspiegelten Toilettennische für Frau Junkers und einem Gobelin der Bauhausweberei. Zahlreiche Stahlrohrmöbel von Marcel Breuer setzten durch ihre Formgebung in scheinbarer Leichtigkeit moderne Akzente der im gutbürgerlichen Stil eingerichteten Junkers-Villa. Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, der spätere Bauhausdirektor, gestaltete 1930 mit seinen schwungvollen Stahlrohrsesseln und eleganten Glastischen das Herrenzimmer, sowie eine Sitzecke im Foyer des Hauses. Die Abteilung Wandmalerei des Bauhauses sorgte für die unterschiedliche Farbgestaltung der Räume, wobei helle Farbtöne dominierten.

Wie aufgeschlossen die Familie Junkers dem Bauhaus und seinen Ideen gegenüberstand, zeigte nicht nur seine Mitgliedschaft und die seiner Töchter im Kreis der Bauhausfreunde. Er tolerierte und förderte die künstlerische Avantgarde und suchte den Kontakt und Austausch mit Intellektuellen. Dazu gehörte auch soziales Engagement, wie finanzielle Unterstützung der Bauhauskantine und die sonnabendliche Mittagsbeköstigung von Bauhausstudenten im Haus Junkers. Die Aufträge von den Junkerswerken an das Bauhaus, die durch die Werkstätten des Bauhauses ausgeführt wurden, sicherten nicht nur der Bauhaus-Gesellschaft mbH Einnahmen, sondern schufen Kreativität und Schöpfertum in beiden Wirkungsstätten. Es waren Höhepunkte der Innovation, denen mit der Schließung des Bauhauses in Dessau ab 1. Oktober 1932 und der Enteignung und Vertreibung von Hugo Junkers am 18. Oktober 1933 ein jähes Ende gesetzt wurde.

Durch Kriegseinwirkungen wurde das Junkers-Wohnhaus in seinem äußeren Erscheinungsbild stark verändert.

Am 03. Februar 1984, seinem 125. Geburtstag, wurde in Erinnerung an sein bedeutendes Wirken als Ingenieur, Wissenschaftler, Flugzeugpionier, Industrieller, Demokrat und Weltbürger eine Gedenktafel am Haus Albrechtstraße 109 angebracht.

8.2. Doppelwohnhaus für leitende Junkers-Mitarbeiter

Das Wohnhaus strahlt noch heute eine Aura aus und fasziniert in seiner baukünstlerischen Formgestaltung und interessant wirkenden Farbgebung. Insbesondere der Wandfries beeindruckt durch Formenvielfalt und Wechselwirkung zwischen Kunst und Technik.

Doppelwohnhaus für leitende Junkers-Mitarbeiter, als Eckbebauung, Ringstraße/Ecke Johann-Sebastian-Bach-Straße am Schillerpark im Stadtteil Nord, 1923/24. Ein baugeschichtlich früher Experimentalbau auf dem Gebiet der angewandten Thermotechnik für Mitarbeiter der Junkerswerke. Dort wohnten leitende Angestellte und Piloten mit ihren Familien und unterstützten praxisbezogene Junkers-Forschung bei Einsatz von wärmetechnischen Gas-"Test"-Geräten im Haus. So besaßen die Wohnungen nicht nur eine unterschiedliche Raumverteilung, sondern auch verschiedene Prinzipien der Wärmezuführung und der Ableitung verbrannter Gase.

Diesem Projekt waren zuvor Versuche im Windkanal vorausgegangen, um das physikalische Verhalten von Gasen unterschiedlicher Dichte nach ihrer Verbrennung im Luftstrom an einem Hausmodell zu untersuchen. So entstanden verschiedene neuartige Schornsteinabzughauben, um unerwünschte Rauchbildungen zu vermeiden und unkontrolliertes Entstehen von Kohlenmonoxid zu unterbinden. Anlagen, die bei der Rekonstruktion des Gebäudes 1997 leider nicht wieder hergestellt worden waren und als interessantes technisches Anschauungsobjekt Junkers`scher Ideen verloren gegangen sind.

Die Windkanalversuche vor dem Beginn des Hausbaues lieferten aber die Erkenntnis, dass bei einem solchen Gebäude der Wärmeverlust an seinen Ecken viel höher war. Daher rundete das Baubüro Junkers die Kanten des Eckgebäudes und der Erker ab, damit wurde eine fließende Formgebung bewirkt und ein effizienterer Wärme-Wirkungsgrad erreicht.

Nach dem Wunsch von Prof. Junkers sollte die baukünstlerische Gestaltung des Gebäudes abgestimmt sein auf das Erscheinungsbild der benachbarten Jugendstilhäuser. Das erreichte ein umlaufender Wandfries, auf dem barocke Putten technische Gerätschaften aus der Junkers-Fertigung in den Händen hielten. Eine interessante künstlerische Arbeit des Dessauer Bildhauers Paul Brenning und in dieser Form eine kunstgeschichtliche Besonderheit, die heute noch bewundert werden kann.

8.3. Badeanstalt Rehsumpf

Mit seinen für die Dessauer Badeanstalt Rehsumpf gefertigten Einrichtungen wie Familienbrausebäder, hochwasserfreie Freizeit- und Sozialbauten schuf das Baubüro Junkers gesellschaftliche Musterbauten.

Badeanstalt Rehsumpf. Die an einem Muldarm zwischen der Jonitzer Mühle und dem Stadtteil Wasserstadt gelegene Badeanstalt "Dessauer Schwimmklub von 1904, e.V. Dessau-Jonitz/Rosenthal", heute kurz Rehsumpf genannt, war einer der privaten Freizeitorte der Familie Junkers. Hier besaß Prof. Hugo Junkers ein kleines Badehaus, das sich im Sommer zu einem Ort des zwanglosen Beisammenseins mit naturverbundenen und sportbegeisterten Dessauern entwickelte. Freizeit und Erholung, aber wohl auch anregend im geistig-kulturellen und sozialen Sinne. Hier erlebten die Dessauer "ihren Professor" privat, naturliebend und sportlich ambitioniert, ein Mitbürger und Familienvater. Als Förderer der Badekultur ließ er durch seine Firmen Junkers & Co und Kaloriferwerk für Dessaus Freiluftbäder und für die Stadtschwimmhalle ergänzend hygienische Einrichtungen einbauen, sponserte Duschanlagen und Erfrischungsspender. Sein Baubüro beauftragte er, Projekte für hochwasserfreie Sozialbauten in Metallbauweise anzufertigen. Es entstand eine Reihe von Entwürfen für diese temporären Häuser mit großflächigen Sonnenterrassen, Pavillons, Hochstände für Rettungsschwimmer, Sprungtürme und Erfrischungsstände. Sie zeigten sein starkes soziales Engagement für den Freizeitsport in Dessau.

© 2016 Junkers-Pfad Dessau. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Impressum