Bauhaus

3. Bauhaus building

On the plot of the new Dessau-Siedlung district, which remained free and is called Georgenbreite, the architect and Bauhaus founder, Walter Gropius, had one of the most striking buildings of the 20th century erected: the Bauhaus building. It was the undeveloped grounds in particular that made the realisation of a building structure without restriction possible. In May/June of 1925, in his own private Dessau construction studio, Gropius developed a timelessly modern structure made of glass, steel and concrete which he placed at a historical, neo-classical intersection with a major avenue from the 18th century. In the most idea circumstances imaginable, the Bauhaus building, with all its complexity, stands "as a white and bright structure on an open field" as a symbol of the Neues Bauen (New Building) movement and as was described euphorically by contemporary critics.

The structure is a geometrically ordered microcosm whose individual building sections (workshop wing, speciality school, connection bridge, connection wing with a communications area and a studio building) meld into each other to form an urban area. The best way to view the Bauhaus building is from one corner to see it diagonally. Situated today at the intersection of Gropiusallee, Bauhausplatz and Bauhausstrasse, the academy for design, which opened on 4 December 1926 among strong international resonance, embodies the unity of art and technology, form and social content; it provided space for the most creative artist community of the 20th century.

The renowned Bauhaus auditorium in Dessau, a significant symbol of the modernity of the 20th century. Technically functional and timelessly aesthetic, Marcel Breuer's first steel tube seating in the world and Max Krajewski's lighting fixtures, manufactured in the Junkers factories. On the walls, the "hanging" Junkers radiators, 1926.

It was here in Dessau that Hugo Junkers, the highly respected entrepreneur and important technological pioneer of the 20th century, came together with Walter Gropius, the director of the Bauhaus, for intense and creative cooperation. It is the beginning of a creative phase for art and technology in which revolutionary ideas matured and solutions were found which still shape our society today.

In the Bauhaus building itself, the Bauhaus workshops could be found, "his laboratories" as Walter Gropius once called them and Hugo Junkers spoke of his factories as "research factories". The mutual inspiration and collaboration in a mental, pedagogical, artistic and practical sense resulted in both institutions having interfaces at various levels. The essay by Gropius formed a good methodical leitmotif: "Wo berühren sich die Schaffensgebiete des Technikers und Künstlers? (Where do the Areas of Activity of a Technician and those of an Artist Overlap?)", which he published in 1926 in the periodical of the Deutsche Werkbund (German Work Federation) called "Die Form", Issue 6. As regards content, the fact that technical advancement took shape as a tool for the new design is illustrated by the example of Junkers aircraft construction. It is understandable that visitors to Dessau as well as guests of the city felt attracted to both Junkers factories and the Bauhaus in equal measure.

Regional companies and trade groups were given preferential treatment while construction on Bauhaus building was underway. The entirety of the thermotechnical equipment was provided and installed by the companies Junkers & Co and the Junkers-Kaloriferwerk. The seating in the auditorium with steel tube covered in steel yarn was a development of Marcel Breuer, a Bauhaus employee. Construction was preceded by a successful testing and development phase of the "Breuer stool" whose timeless elegance was achieved by Breuer in the Junkers apprentice workshop with practical trials with various materials and their shaping. In the experienced master instructor, the young Marcel Breuer found a partner in who industry found transformation of his artistic intentions, a pertinent example for the unity of art and technology.

Advertising leaflet for the use of Junkers gas hot water appliances in the Bauhaus building, 1929.

Also the Junkers radiators "hung" on the walls of the public area of the Bauhaus building as well as the modern lighting fixtures designed by the Bauhaus artists Marianne Brandt and Max Krajewski become evident here. A Junkers advertisement as "technical information" for hot water appliances using a motif from the Dessau Bauhaus building in "Die Form", 1929, illustrates where art and technology overlap in the Zeitgeist of that era.

© 2022 Junkers-Pfad Dessau. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Imprint / Disclaimer / Privacy

Bauhaus

3. Bauhausgebäude

Auf dem noch freien Areal des neuen Stadtteiles Dessau-Siedlung, der Georgenbreite, ließ 1925/26 der Architekt und Bauhausgründer Walter Gropius eines der markantesten Bauwerke des 20. Jahrhunderts, das Bauhausgebäude, errichten. Gerade das noch unbebaute Gelände ermöglichte ein Bauen ohne Schranken. Im Mai/Juni 1925 entwickelte Gropius in seinem privaten Dessauer Bauatelier einen zeitlos modernen Baukörper aus Glas, Stahl und Beton, welchen er in das Zentrum einer historischen, klassizistischen Alleenachse aus dem 18.Jahrhundert stellte. In idealer Weise steht das Bauhausgebäude in seiner Komplexität "als ein weißer und lichter Bau auf freiem Feld", als Symbol des Neuen Bauens, wie ihn Zeitkritiker euphorisch beschrieben.

Der Bau ist ein geometrisch geordneter Mikrokosmos, dessen einzelne Gebäudeteile (Werkstattflügel, Fachschule, Verbindungsbrücke, Zwischentrakt mit Kommunikationsbereich und Atelierhaus) ineinander zu einem Stadtraum verschmelzen. Die optimale Sicht auf das Bauhausgebäude ist die Diagonale. Heute im Schnittpunkt von Gropiusallee, Bauhausplatz und Bauhausstraße gelegen, verkörpert die am 4. Dezember 1926 unter starker internationaler Resonanz eröffnete Hochschule für Gestaltung die Einheit von Kunst und Technik, Form und sozialem Inhalt; bot Raum für die wohl kreativste Künstlergemeinschaft des letzten Jahrhunderts.

Die berühmte Bauhausaula in Dessau, ein signifikantes Symbol der Moderne des 20. Jahrhunderts. Technisch funktionell und zeitlos ästhetisch, Marcel Breuers erste Stahlrohrbestuhlung der Welt und Max Krajewskijs Leuchtsoffitten, gefertigt in den Junkerswerken. An den Wänden die "gehängten" Junkers-Heizkörper, 1926.

Hier in Dessau begegneten sich Hugo Junkers, der hoch geachtete Unternehmer und bedeutende Technikpionier des 20. Jahrhunderts, und Walter Gropius, der Direktor des Bauhauses, zu einer intensiven und kreativen Zusammenarbeit. Es ist der Beginn einer schöpferischen Phase von Kunst und Technik, in der umwälzende Ideen reiften und Lösungen gefunden wurden, die noch heute unsere Gesellschaft prägen.

Im Bauhaus selbst befanden sich die Bauhauswerkstätten, "seine Laboratorien", wie sie Walter Gropius einst bezeichnete, und Hugo Junkers sprach von seinen Werken als "Forschungsfabriken". Die gegenseitige Inspiration und Zusammenarbeit im geistigen, pädagogischen, künstlerischen und praktischen Sinne führte zu Schnittpunkten beider Institutionen auf verschiedenen Ebenen. Ein guter methodischer Leitfaden bildete dabei der Aufsatz von Gropius: "Wo berühren sich die Schaffensgebiete des Technikers und Künstlers?", den er 1926 in der Zeitschrift des deutschen Werkbundes "Die Form", Heft 6, veröffentlichte. Inhaltlich wird am Beispiel des Junkers-Flugzeugbaus erläutert, dass sich der technische Fortschritt zum Werkzeug für die neue Gestaltung herausgebildet hat. Verständlich, dass sich unter diesen Aspekten Dessaus Gäste und Besucher von den Junkerswerken und dem Bauhaus gleichermaßen angezogen fühlten.

Vorzugsweise regionale Firmen und Gewerke waren an der Bauausführung des Bauhausgebäudes beteiligt. Die gesamte wärmetechnische Ausstattung übernahmen die Firmen Junkers & Co sowie das Junkers-Kaloriferwerk. Die Bestuhlung der Aula mit eisengarnbespannten Stahlrohrsitzreihen war eine Entwicklung des Bauhäuslers Marcel Breuer. Voraus ging eine erfolgreiche Probe- und Entwicklungsphase des "Breuer-Hockers", dessen zeitlose Eleganz er in der Junkers-Lehrwerkstatt durch praktische Versuche mit verschiedenen Materialien und deren Formgebung erreichte. Der junge Marcel Breuer fand in dem erfahrenen Lehrmeister Karl Körner den Partner in der Industrie zur Umsetzung seiner künstlerischen Intentionen, ein treffendes Beispiel für die Einheit von Kunst und Technik.

Reklameblatt für die Nutzung von Junkers-Gas-Heisswassergeräten im Bauhausgebäude, 1929.

Auch die im öffentlichen Bereich des Bauhausgebäudes an die Wände "gehängten" Junkers-Radiatoren (Heizkörper) sowie die modernen, von den Bauhauskünstlern Marianne Brandt und Max Krajewskij gestalteten Beleuchtungskörper werden dadurch sinnfällig. Eine Junkers-Anzeige als "Technische Aufklärung" für Warmwassergeräte, unter der Verwendung eines Motivs vom Dessauer Bauhausgebäude, in "Die Form", 1929, verdeutlicht den Schnittpunkt von Kunst und Technik im Zeitgeist jener Jahre.

© 2016 Junkers-Pfad Dessau. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Impressum